Oh Canada!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

MicroMalik and I headed off to Canada for two weeks to celebrate my little brother getting married! It was really hard leaving MrMalik and MiniMalik behind, but we had some great adventures.

Blue Mountain

We werent actually staying in the resort, but my brother and his new wife both previously worked in the resort and so I managed to visit parts of the site. The ‘village’ itself is a bit like butlins goes to Canada, lots of shops and family pubs with a man made lake in the center, it was really lovely to wander around at night with all the lights. On Labour day, which we were there for, they had a massive free fireworks show which was fabulous!

Niagra Falls

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

FB download

We drove 4 hours each way to get to Niagra from where we were, but it was worth it! The falls itself are amazing, tv and film never do it justice. We stood at the top and worked our way along the side to where we could catch the ‘Maid of the Mist’. The boat is expensive, but totally worth it. They give you the rain macs included in the price and you’ll need them because it is wet and wild at the bottom of the falls! I was wearing MicroMalik on my front during the trip, so put the mac over both of us and made a hole for his head to pop out. Then I put a waterproof hat on him to keep the worst of the wet off. The water was dripping down his face but he didnt seem to mind! He got a bit scared when we first pulled up the falls as it is very wild, so we ducked behind the cab. There is a lull just after that which is great for the kids who are a bit nervous. As the boat pulls away it got wild again, so we hid!

The cottage

My sister-in-law is very lucky also that her family own a patch of land further north in the wilderness. They even have their own lake, and within 10 minutes of fishing I had caught my first fish! It was amazing being so far from cilvilisation and being able to actually see the stars, I have never seen so many in my life. We were quite near to Huntsville, which was another beautiful little town with some fabulous art.

Collingwood

This is the town that my new sister-in-law grew up in, its really lovely. They have a little craft and food market, the usual big chain shops and some independent gift shops. You can see the history in the buildings, just like in a western and if I shut my eyes very tightly I could almost see the cowboys riding down the street! They also have the most beautiful public library I have ever seen!  It is very close to Wasaga beach which is very well known as the longest fresh water beach in the world.

The details

There is NO public transport, so if you dont want to stay put, then you’ll need to hire a car.

Food is really quite expensive here, especially bread, milk & cheese, but its not too difficult to eat cheaply if you are creative

Leave a Reply

